Color Consistency in Provincial Logos on the Island of Java with Use of Color Code

Rini Maulina

ICOBEST 2021 - Digitalization and Opportunities in The Tough Time - ISBN 978-623-95562-1-1


Indonesia has 34 provinces, 98 cities and 416 districts. Each Province, City and Regency has a local government to manage the community as representatives of the central government. Each provincial government has a regional logo. Regional logos reflect cultural symbols such as regional peculiarities, regional identities, which is contained in the graphic elements of regional logos such as images, colors and text. The use of color in regional logos is tied to images as symbols. In the regional regulations regarding color, there are meanings and provisions for color types. However, in that regulations, there is no Hex codes. Hex codes which refer to the colors of regional logos are important to know for the use of original colors according to those contained in regional regulations and to maintain the consistency of the logo color . Based on this, the purpose of this study is to determine the type of color and to know the Hex code which refers to the color contained in the logos of provinces such as Banten, West Java, Central Java, East Java, DKI Jakarta and DI Yogyakarta. The method used is descriptive, statistical and using feature color picker, Hex and color name finder. Data were collected through literature and observation. The results showed the colors in the regional logos were dominated by primary colors. Hex code was found. Found a more appropriate color name. The colors on the six regional logos match the Hex code and color names.

Article PDF